Museum of Arts and Design (MAD)

2 Columbus Circle
New York, New York

Midtown West

Tuesday-Sunday 10 am - 6 pm
Open Thursday & Friday until 9 pm

Explore contemporary and historic innovation in craft, art, and design in a lovely setting overlooking Central Park.

$: $15, Free/18 and under

Annual Memberships: $75+.

Free Hours: Thursdays 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Current Kid-Friendly Exhibits:

Surface/Depth: The Decorative After Miriam Schapiro (through Sep 9)
See pioneering feminist Miriam Schapiro’s "femmages, distinctive hybrids of painting and collage inspired by women’s domestic arts and crafts as well works by a select group of contemporary artists highlighting the tremendous role Schapiro played in the reframing of craft and decoration. Pretty patterns, so much color, and thought-provoking sculptures.

Family Programs: The first Sunday afternoon of each month drop into Studio Sunday to create art inspired by current exhibits (and a stunning Central Park/Columbus Circle view). Projects that can be adapted to any age are led by patient educators.

Strollers/Diapers: Elevator access everywhere and changing tables in the bathrooms on the top & bottom floors

Eat & Treats: Stroll across Broadway for delicious French pastries and bread from Maison Kayser and Italian gelato from Grom.

More info on Museum of Arts and Design (MAD)

Loading Map....


At This Location

1 2

Nearby

  • Stroller Tour Through History Sunday, August 19 10:15 am–11:00 am
  • New-York Historical Society Storytime Sunday, August 19 11:30 am–12:30 pm
  • Summer of Magic: Learn a Parlor Trick Sunday, August 19 12:00 pm–4:00 pm
  • The Party Friday, July 13–Friday, August 31 10:00 am–6:00 pm
  • Surf and Sand at Rockefeller Center Friday, August 10–Friday, August 31 All Day
  • Rockwell, Roosevelt & the Four Freedoms Friday, May 25–Sunday, September 2 10:00 am–6:00 pm
  • Surface/Depth: The Decorative After Miriam Schapiro Tuesday, May 22–Sunday, September 9 10:00 am–6:00 pm
  • Summer of Magic: Treasures from the David Copperfield Collection Thursday, June 15–Sunday, September 16 10:00 am–6:00 pm
  • Walk This Way: Footwear from the Stuart Weitzman Collection of Historic Shoes Thursday, April 20–Monday, October 8 10:00 am–6:00 pm
  • Charting the Divine Plan: The Art of Orra White Hitchcock (1796–1863) Thursday, June 21–Sunday, October 14 12:00 pm–6:00 pm
  • The Long Run Friday, June 1–Sunday, November 4 10:30 am–5:30 pm
  • MoMA Lounge Friday, June 1–Monday, December 31 12:00 am
  • MoMA Art Lab: Nature Monday, January 1–Monday, December 31 10:30 am–5:00 pm
  • 100 Gates Project Wednesday, November 1–Monday, December 31 All Day
  • Bodys Isek Kingelez: City Dreams Friday, June 1–Tuesday, January 1 10:30 am–5:30 pm
  • If Everything Is Sculpture Why Make Sculpture? Saturday, June 16–Monday, September 30 10:30 am–5:30 pm